Our Christmas Miracle

12/31/2012 12:05

Two fridays ago my sweet papaw got rushed to the ER- we did not know how much longer he would be with us. i was terrified that i would not be able to see him one last time- i began to pray and text everyone i know asking them for prayer to keep my papaw alive until Christmas. That afternoonmom called saying that papaw was back at home semi-stable.  i rushed over to my grandparents house to see papaw and to se what i could do to help. I found him lying under the covers in the spare bedroom. he looks so peacful," Lord, please don't take my papaw yet." I sat by his bed for a wile and finally he woke up. he did not recognise me and he could not talk- only mumble. it was so sad seeing my papaw in this state. we had to help him eat, drink, use the restroom, and change clothes. ugh my heart hurt.

my cousins and i decided to spend the night and take care or my grandparents. :) we stayed up late munching on popcorn and watching movies checking on papw every few minutes. although this was a hard, heavy weekend- the Lord gave me sweet fellowship with my cousins/ family. that night after much soup and extra liquids papaw began to perk up and was able to move his feet on his own. we had him laughing and talking again :) what a miracle. the next morning papaw was ready to walk around and eat breakfast. he was still very weak but he only continued to get better. 

what a fun time i had with my cousins- we played nintendo 64 all day, ate pizza, drank too much soda, watch childhood movies... an incredible blessing to spend so much time with them before i leave for peru!!!  and SO thankful that my grandparents are still alive and daily praying for me. i am truly overwhemed by the Lord's hand upon my life.

This is the first morning after papaw woke up. :) ready for lunch and a little dessert !